Monaghan County Council was yesterday (23 November 2017) named Local Authority of the Year at the Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards. The 14th annual Awards ceremony was held in association with the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and showcases and celebrates the best of Local Government in Ireland.

John Clancy, Head of Public Sector Business, Vodafone Ireland said, ‘We are delighted to sponsor the Chambers Ireland- Excellence in Local Government Awards 2017.  This is a unique and important event that recognises and celebrates the work that the local authorities contribute to communities all over Ireland. We are proud to work alongside Chambers Ireland and The Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and would like to congratulate each of the local authorities who were recognised tonight, in particular the Monaghan County Council, who are named the Local Authority of the Year 2017.”


He added, “As Ireland’s leading total communications provider, we have made significant investment to expand its technology offering within the public sector. We are committed to supporting local authorities by providing a range of market leading communications to enhance efficiencies across local government operations, consumers and all types of businesses all over the country.”


Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said, “The Excellence in Local Government Awards  demonstrate how each year Local Authorities work consistently to deliver services and initiatives that sustain, enhance and support our communities and local economies. Chambers Ireland is honoured to host these awards and recognise the dedication and hard work that takes place at local government level across Ireland. I want to congratulate Monaghan County Council, the 16 category winners, the many shortlisted organisations but also just as importantly, the people who made all these projects and activities happen.”


“Monaghan County Council has shown exceptional leadership through a vision for the future development of the locality and the broader economic region. Monaghan has demonstrated tremendous ambition and capacity for innovation across numerous projects and is recognised for its willingness to share best practice with peers. The drive to continuously improve and deliver better services to citizens makes Monaghan a worthy winner of Local Authority of the Year.”


Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development, Damien English TD commented about the awards, “These awards are an opportunity for each Local Authority to showcase to the public the hard work being undertaken year on year.  It is important to recognise and reward the Local Authority’s work which is making a real impact and delivering tangible benefits for people in our communities.  I am very appreciative to Chambers Ireland for the important work they carry out regarding the Excellence in Local Government Awards.”



There were sixteen awards presented on the night plus the overall award for Local Authority of the Year. Individual awards were sponsored by: Lidl, ESB Networks, Healthy Ireland, Fáilte Ireland, AIB, LGiU Ireland, ERP, Waterford Crystal, Zurich, EirGrid, SIRO, Vodafone, Ervia, Shell E&P Ireland and An Post.


Specially commissioned crystal awards designed by Waterford Crystal were presented to the winners on the night. 


The full list of winners is as follows:

Supporting Active Communities Award sponsored by Lidl:

Cork County Council – Dunmanway Community Garden – By the Community, for the Community, in the Heart of the Community


Best Practice in Citizen Engagement Award sponsored by ESB Networks:

South Dublin County Council – €300K – Have Your Say!


Health & Wellbeing Award sponsored by Healthy Ireland:

Mayo County Council – Men on the Move


Supporting Tourism Award sponsored by Fáilte Ireland:

Waterford City & County Council – Waterford Greenway


Promoting Economic Development Award sponsored by AIB:

Limerick City & County Council – Regeneration Programme: Model of pathways to employment in the hospitality and catering industry


Local Authority Innovation Award sponsored by LGiU Ireland:

Cork City Council – Competitive Dialogue Housing Delivery Process


Sustainable Environment Award sponsored by ERP:

Kerry County Council – MacGillycuddy Reeks Habitat and Trail Repair Project – a Collaborative Rural Economic Development Zone (REDZ) initiative


Best Library Service Award sponsored by Waterford Crystal:

Kildare County Council – Support to Secondary Schools Programme


Sustaining the Arts Award sponsored by Zurich:

Longford County Council –


Joint Local Authority Initiative Award sponsored by EirGrid:

Monaghan County Council –Cavan and Monaghan Science Festival


Festival of the Year Award sponsored by Fáilte Ireland:

Donegal County Council – SEA SESSIONS Surf and Music Festival


Outstanding Customer Service Award sponsored by SIRO:

Limerick City & County Council –


Enhancing the Urban Environment Award sponsored by Vodafone:

Offaly County Council – Revitalising Birr by improving the way its public realm functions


Heritage and Built Environment Award sponsored by Ervia:

Cork County Council – Spike Island, Cork Harbour


Disability Services Provision Award sponsored by Shell E&P Ireland:

Cork City Council – Hollyhill Library Services for Children with Autism


Commemorations and Centenaries Award sponsored by An Post:

Cavan County Council – Cavan County Museum’s Commemoration Education Programme